e-Caribana

The concept

The Caribana Festival is about to celebrate its 30th birthday. Since the beginning, it has always been a modern and avant-garde festival, in tune with new technologies and current trends. This year, the festival wants to make a big splash opening its doors to a different public. We are proud to present to you our new concept: the e-Caribana.

Organised on Sunday, 21st June (last day of the festival), this innovative event will mainly be a big Nintendo’ Super Smash Bros. Ultimate tournament. It will certainly be a turning point in Caribana’s history but also in gaming’s history as it will be the first ever outdoor tournament.

During the day, two tournaments will take place simultaneously: a professional competition with the world’s best players and a second one with amateurs.

To help us organise the world’s biggest Super Smash Bros. Ultimate invitational open air, we are supported by our partner Andros and by the Swiss Esports Federation (SESF). For more than 10 years, the SESF has supported the Swiss eSports scene and they look forward to hosting the biggest events stakeholders entering the eSports world.

Rest assured, Caribana festival will still hold four amazing days of music before this brand new event.

Professional tournament

32 of the world’s top players will make up this tournament. MkLeo (#1 World), Glutonny (#1 Europe), QuiK (#2 Europe) and Mr. R (top 10 Europe) have already confirmed their presence. Other players will be announced soon. A CHF 10’000.- prize pool will be divided between the 8 best players of the competition.

Qualifier tournament

To compete against the world’s best players, 8 players will be chosen during an amateur qualifier tournament that will occur before the festival. Information and booking available soon.

Amateur tournament

The amateur tournament will take place on Sunday, June 21 starting at midday. 128 players will make up this double-elimination competition. The top 8 will receive prizes. Registration for the amateur tournament opens Thursday, 13th February. Players eliminated will have the opportunity to take part in a ladder tournament.

Lost Frequencies DJ Set

What would e-Caribana be without music?
After the prize giving ceremony, Belgium DJ Lost Frequencies will close the festival with a DJ Set.

Activities

In addition to the tournaments, plenty of activities will be organised during the day such as retro gaming, a silent party, a huge Just Dance on the lake stage and a cosplay contest.

Main players confirmed

  • MkLeo (#1 World)
  • Glutonny (#1 Europe)
  • QuiK (#2 Europe)
  • Mr. R (Top 10 Europe)

Tickets

e-Caribana tickets are available in the same points of sale as regular Caribana tickets.

Conducting the tournament

128 players will take part in the double-elimination tournament. Matches are best of 3, the first player to win the first 2 games wins the match. The rules are: 3 lives, no time, no items, stage list.
Players losing a game will proceed to the losers bracket in which they will need to win every match to reach the final against the winner of the winners bracket.
Players that cannot make it to the final (which means they lost two matches) will be able to participate to a ladder tournament. That is a matchmaking which allows you, using your smartphone, to find an opponent at your level. In case of victory, you climb up the ranking.

e-Caribana

Le concept

Le Caribana soufflera cette année ses 30 bougies. Depuis sa création, le festival a toujours affiché une volonté avant-gardiste, en phase avec les nouvelles technologies et tendances actuelles. En 2020, le festival souhaite frapper un grand coup et ouvrir ses portes à un nouveau public. C’est donc avec fierté que nous vous présentons notre concept innovant : le e-Caribana !

Organisé le dernier jour du festival, le dimanche 21 juin 2020, ce nouvel événement sera constitué principalement d’un grand tournoi de Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (le jeu phare de la franchise Nintendo). Il marquera un tournant dans l’histoire du Caribana mais aussi dans celui du gaming puisque ce sera une première mondiale en extérieur.

Ainsi, deux tournois auront lieu lors de cet événement novateur : une première compétition composée de professionnels internationaux du jeu de Nintendo et une deuxième sous forme de grand tournoi amateur disputé entièrement durant l’après-midi.

Dans l’organisation du plus grand invitational open air de Super Smash Bros. Ultimate du monde, le Caribana Festival sera soutenu par son partenaire Andros et la Swiss Esports Federation. Depuis plus de 10 ans, la SESF soutient la scène eSports suisse et se réjouit de voir les grands acteurs de l’événementiel entrer dans le mouvement.

Les plus fidèles festivaliers musicaux ne seront pas en reste puisque nous leur réservons quatre jours de festival de musique d’une forte intensité (soit du mercredi 17 au samedi 20 juin).

Tournoi professionnel

Concernant le tournoi professionnel, composé de 32 participants, de grands noms ont déjà été confirmés. Ainsi, MkLeo (numéro 1 Monde – mexicain), Glutonny (numéro 1 Europe – français), QuiK (numéro 2 Europe – allemand) et Mr. R (top 10 Europe – hollandais) seront de la partie le dimanche 21 juin. D’autres stars du jeu seront annoncées prochainement. Un prize pool de CHF 10’000.- sera réparti entre les 8 meilleurs du tournoi.

Tournoi qualificatif

Pour tenter d’affronter les plus grands joueurs mondiaux, 8 compétiteurs seront sélectionnés en amont lors d’un tournoi qualificatif amateur. Informations et réservations disponibles prochainement.

Grand tournoi amateur

Le tournoi amateur sera constitué de 128 joueurs. Il commencera le dimanche 21 juin à 12:00 et se déroulera sous la forme d’un tournoi à double élimination. Les 8 meilleurs joueurs du tournoi se verront remettre des lots. Les inscriptions seront ouvertes le jeudi 13 février au prix de CHF 15.-. Les joueurs éliminés pourront prendre part à un tournoi « ladder » organisé en parallèle.

Concert de Lost Frequencies

Que serait un e-Caribana sans concert ?
Après la remise des prix, le DJ belge Lost Frequencies clôturera la 30ème édition en feux d’artifice.

Animations

Pour accompagner cet événement unique, de nombreuses activités seront proposées, telles qu’un espace retrogaming, une silent party, un just dance géant sur la scène du Lac ainsi qu’un défilé de cosplay.

Les joueurs déjà annoncés

  • MkLeo (Numéro 1 Monde)
  • Glutonny (Numéro 1 Europe)
  • QuiK (Numéro 2 Europe)
  • Mr. R (Top 10 Europe)

Billetterie

Les billets pour le e-Caribana sont en vente aux mêmes endroits que ceux du Caribana.
https://www.caribana-festival.ch/fr/billetterie/

Déroulement du tournoi amateur

Le déroulement du tournoi amateur se fera sous la forme d’un arbre à double-élimination de 128 joueurs.
Les sets se dérouleront en Bo3 (meilleur de 3 manches) dans des matchs à vie, sans objets, sur les cartes autorisées.
À sa première défaite, un joueur descend dans l’arbre des perdants, où il devra avancer dans le tournoi en devant vaincre deux fois plus d’adversaires. Il n’aura plus le droit à l’erreur si il veut rejoindre le gagnant de l’arbre du haut en grande finale !

Pour les malheureux qui n’arriveront pas en grande finale (qui auront donc perdu deux fois), il sera possible de continuer à jouer des matchs compétitifs via un « ladder »; un système de « matchmaking » qui leur permettra, via leur smartphone, de trouver un adversaire à leur niveau, et, en cas de victoire, de grimper dans le classement.